Parched

green-plant-shoot-penetrating-parched-earth-580x358“O God, you are my God, for you I long; for you my soul is thirsting. My body pines for you like a dry, weary land without water.”  (Psalm 62)

The land is parched. It is very hot. We have seen no measurable rain for a long time. Crops wither. Birds sit on the fence with their beaks open to cool their brains. Only weeds do well in these conditions. I am not a weed. I, too, yearn for relief. Unlike the plants and the birds, my yearning goes deeper and is always there, despite feast or famine. Deep in the heart of every person is a secret place that only God can fill. Send the life-giving waters of your Spirit, Lord, to the parched and weary landscape of my soul.  “For you love is better than life.”  (Psalm 62)

Parched

Leave a Reply

