Father’s Day

2005_1226Image0098

I have loved our son from the beginning and from before the beginning. The first time I placed the ultrasound probe on his mother’s abdomen and heard his rapidly beating heart, I sensed his personal presence and I loved him. The miracle of new life! The first night he spent on earth out of the womb, I cradled him in my arms all night. Thus began our bond and our permanent share in the sacred mystery of God’s love for us all. This is what Father’s Day evokes for me. I remember my own father and his journey of life with me, and I understand so much more now. It is a sacred calling and an abundant blessing to be a father. I pray for God’s grace always to guide me.

Leave a Reply

