A Simple Prayer

dsc_0131

As I get older, my desire is to become only my true, child self again. This is my daily goal. Slowly, I am removing the masks I acquired over the years. So many. No, I am not worthy of the grace I receive. At my best, I may have love, but only God is Love. This gives me hope that all is not lost.

In the warmer days of the year, I go into the garden and kneel on the earth that I tilled and planted. I feel the sun on my face and see eternity playing among the billowing clouds, and the tall prairie grasses in the wind look like waves on an ocean. In the stark contrasts of Winter, I dream of Spring and wait for the light to return.

Today, I will try to do simple work while the sun shines. Tonight, I will take my rest. Lord, I just want to be simple again. May all of my days pass in a quiet and joyful reverence.

Leave a Reply

