Mary the Contemplative

smith-catholic-art

“Mary kept all these things, reflecting on them in her heart.” (Luke 2:19)

(New Year’s Day)

Do I keep things that happen to me and around me and reflect on them in my heart, or is there an endless flood of sensations with no center? Am I contemplative? Do I keep still often enough and long enough to reflect on my life? Am I centered in silence? Am I ultimately rootless?

The center, the beginning and the end of all things real, is found first in silence. If I do not return there on a routine basis, I will be subject to manipulation and despair. I will become just one more leaf on the wind.

My New Year’s intention is to remember to take time for silence and reflection, to keep things and reflect on them in my heart, like Mary the contemplative.

marypondering

“It’s only when we consciously carve out space for the holy – in our heads, our hearts and our lifestyles – that the deeper mysteries of life can reveal themselves.” – Marianne Williamson

Leave a Reply

