Admitting Defeat

I-have-been-crucified-with-Christ-and-I-no-longer-live-but-Christ-lives-in-me.

“When accurate limitations are seen and accepted, they vanish and new dimensions open up.”  Thomas Merton

St. Paul’s transformation was more thorough than mine will ever be. My efforts are weak and I resist grace. Left to my own devices, I would fail completely, as I have…but God’s grace is sufficient. Therefore, my hope rests in God’s love alone and not in my own ridiculous attempts at goodness. God’s love does not fail. My only strength is in recognizing my weakness and asking for help, but I suspect God helps me do that, too.

The curious landscape of salvation: it is nothing I deserve and everything God gives.

332-quotes-about-victory-and-defeat

One thought on “Admitting Defeat

Leave a Reply

