The Landscape of Marriage

and_so_the_word_became_flesh___by_grasstain

(For my wife.) 

I have awakened in the night aware of just how lucky I am; lucky to be alive and lucky to be here with you. I know it is only by God’s grace and yours that I am here.

Our family by marriage and by birth binds me here to you, gladly. How little I knew before. How little I know now. But this I do know: Grace flows from this sacrament and two become one like they were never two.

The landscape of marriage is populated with joys and sorrows and faith beyond words, and love that gives new life to those fortunate enough to stop and rest long beneath its beautiful trees, abundant with the fruit of merciful love.

I have arrived in a place I do not deserve and my gratitude is profound.

IMG_4241

 

One thought on “The Landscape of Marriage

Leave a Reply

