Awaiting Birth

annunciation

(Luke 1:39-45) John (in his mother’s womb) leaps for joy when he recognizes Jesus (in his mother’s womb). Can I see the unborn presence of God in this moment? This presence is born into reality when I, like Mary, believe what is spoken to me in hidden moments. More than anything, I want to be quiet in these days leading up to Christmas.

Satellite view of Magellanic Cloud

Prayer: In the darkness of this womb-life, awaiting birth into the light of eternity, let me recognize God’s hidden presence in the womb of this world.

Leave a Reply

