A Second Chance

“Behold, I make all things new!” – Revelation 21:5

hope-sun

Found  

Recovery is an amazing grace and an amazing gift. My recovery birthday is more important to me than my original birthday. A second chance at life is an amazing gift to a person who has squandered the original gift.

il_570xN.726910959_an14 (1)

Loved    

For the first 2 years of recovery I kept looking over my shoulder waiting for the retribution I expected and deserved. It never came. What came instead was love, forgiveness, and new life. In this experience I discovered that God is love and mercy.

“God gives life to the dead and calls into being what does not exist.” – Romans 4:17b

stock-footage-savior-rescuer-salvation-hand-man-drowning-saved-by-lifeguard-underwater-sun-shining-rescue-new

Grateful

If you were drowning and knew you were going to die, then someone unexpectedly saved you, how would you feel about that person? My life is a debt of gratitude. But for the grace of God I would not be alive today. How could I not be grateful?

quotes-hope-06-jean-de-la-breyere-600x411

Blessed  

We are not here to suffer and be alienated; we are here to live well and be grateful. Blessed is the person who knows just how broken and powerless he or she really is, then finds the courage to ask for help.

“For I know the plans I have for you”, says the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.” – Jeremiah 29:11

Screen-Shot-2014-01-16-at-5.19.48-pm-600x480

Prayer: Lord of Life, thank you for second chances, amazing graces, and new life out of death. Give me the grace to accept your beautiful gifts of love, mercy, and new life.

(Found: 10-25-1989)

                *This is dedicated to my departed friend, Marjorie M. (1969 – 2015).                                     You gave me courage and comfort during those perilous early days.                             Be at peace, Marjorie.*

4 thoughts on “A Second Chance

Leave a Reply

