Seeds and Soil

“And some seed fell on good soil, and when it grew, it produced fruit a hundredfold.” – Luke 8: 8

the-sower-background

“Every moment and event in every person’s life plants something in the soul. For just as the wind carries thousands of seeds, so each moment brings with it seeds of spiritual vitality that come to rest in the minds and wills of people. Most of these seeds perish because we are not prepared to receive them: for such seeds as these cannot spring up anywhere except in the good soil of freedom, spontaneity and love.” – Thomas Merton

seed-sower-jeremy-sams

Seeds and soil in the garden of my life: Which seeds are falling on what soil in me? What is being nurtured? What is being neglected? What seeds am I sowing in the world? What kind of harvest am I reaping? Am I tending to this garden at all? Am I helping others to prepare a good harvest? Am I humble enough to see my weakness and ask for help?

6898739-dry-soilof-a-barren-land-and-single-growing-plant

“Much of the harvest of goodness remains neglected in the fields of our lives because we forget to help each other with the harvest.” – Sr. Marcina Wiederkehr, OSB

ev2007_02

Prayer: May the good seeds of God’s love come to rest in my soul and yield an abundant harvest of new life; for the world, for my loved ones, and for me.

abundance

4 thoughts on “Seeds and Soil

Leave a Reply

