The Unexpected

For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future. – Jeremiah 29:11

1st anniversary July 24,1949

I was unplanned but not unwanted. There were mixed feelings about the pregnancy, however. At the time, my mother was 34 years old and caring for her dying father. My parents were poor. My siblings were 11 and 7 years old. The house was too small for another person. My parents had been told my mother would never be able to bear another child. My mother wondered why a child was being given to her at such a difficult time.

David's Christening Nov 1960

My grandfather died 5 months before I was born. My mother was grieving and depressed. The timing was inconvenient, to say the least. Still, they welcomed me into the world and our family grew. In retrospect, my mother says she is sorry she ever doubted the blessing of another child.

1963

All I’ve ever known is love and acceptance from my family. My life has been abundant and very good. The bond of love I share with my family grows with the years and we all share in this joy of loving. If my mother had terminated the pregnancy (terminated me!) their lives may have gone as planned, there would have been less accommodation and sacrifice, and they probably would have been happy. Naturally, I am biased, but I do not believe my life has diminished or harmed my loved ones. They have certainly blessed me abundantly with their love and support. I am grateful to have this gift of life; to live and move and have my being in the God who is love.

Thanksgiving 1965

Thank you to my parents and to God for giving me the gift of life. Thank you to my brother and sister for not complaining too much.

2 thoughts on “The Unexpected

Leave a Reply

